MUSC Hollings Cancer Center

Cancer Control

Dr. Katherine Sterba Awarded American Cancer Society Grant

Dr. Katherine Sterba was awarded a five-year career development grant from the American Cancer Society at a reception on
February 6th, 2013 at the Department of Public Health Sciences where she is an Assistant Professor.  The title of her Mentored Research Scholar Grant is "Transitions After Treatment in Head and Neck Cancer Patient-Caregiver Dyads."  Dr. Sterba is a behavioral scientist affiliated with the Hollings Cancer Center’s Cancer Control program. Her research focuses on the development and testing of survivorship interventions to improve outcomes for individuals with head and neck cancer and their family caregivers.

Three American Cancer Society (ACS) representatives attended the reception to present the award to Dr. Sterba.  ACS representatives included Mary Nesbitt, Executive Vice President of Field Operations for the South Atlantic Division and
Ashley Cashon, Mission Delivery Director-South Carolina.  Also present was Dr. George Frederick Worsham, MD, Chief Medical Officer of Charleston Pathology P.A. who is an award-winning leadership volunteer for the ACS and has served on the ACS national board and as the Chief Medical Officer for the ACS’s South Atlantic Board.

Dr. Sterba’s project will include training in the area of health services research and organizational change and she will lead the development and testing of a clinic survivorship care planning intervention for head and neck cancer survivors and their caregivers.  Dr. Jane Zapka, Professor in the Department of Public Health Sciences, is the primary mentor for this grant.  Dr. Terry Day, Professor, Division of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery and Director of the Head and Neck Tumor Program, Hollings Cancer Center, Dr. Elizabeth Garrett-Mayer, Director of Biostatistics, Hollings Cancer Center and Dr. Keisuke Shirai, Assistant Professor, Hematology-Oncology, are co-mentors.


* This website is best viewed in Firefox or Chrome internet browsers.